Published On: Fri, Jun 28th, 2019

100 Congress leaders resigns to convince Rahul Gandhi remain as president

More than one hundred leaders in Congress submitted their resignations Friday showing their wish of convincing party president Rahul Gandhi to take back his own resignation.

The leaders who resigned were Congress general secretary in-charge of MP Deepak Babaria, Telangana working president Ponnam Prabhakar, Goa Congress president Girish Chodhankar, Delhi working president Rajesh Lilothia, and Indian Youth Congress vice-president BV Srinivas.

A day before Congress Rajya Sabha MP Vivek Tankha tweeted resignation.

Friday’s resignation list also includes All India Congress Committee secretaries Prakash Joshi, Anil Choudhury, Virender Rathore, and Rajesh Dharmani, foreign cell secretary Virender Vashist, and Mahila Congress general secretary Netta D’Souza.

On May 25 Rahul Gandhi announced his wish to quit as party president at a meeting of the Congress Working Committee.

Rahul Gandhi accepted responsibility for miserable performance of Congress in the Lok Sabha elections. The party managed to grab only 52 seats of 543.

Since his announcement of resignation, many party leaders have persuaded him to remain as their president.

Congress, Rahul Gandhi, president

Babaria said, “Why should the moral responsibility of the loss be on Rahul Gandhi alone? We should all resign and introspect.”

According to AICC secretary, Prakash Joshi Congress leaders are brainstorming ways to convince Rahul Gandhi to take back his resignation.

Related Stories

Chandrababu Naidu Government Looted In Power Purchase: Reddy
FM Nirmala Sitharaman On UK’s 100 Most Influential Women List

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->