Published On: Sun, Jan 31st, 2016

India Creates 140-Yr History. First Team To Defeat Australia At Home In T20I Series

Spread the love

India becomes the first country in more than a century to whitewash Australia on its soil in a Twenty20 International series.

The Team India defeated Aussies Sunday by seven wickets in a phenomenal game at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) chasing 197, refreshing the memory of 2013 when the boys chased down 201 in Rajkot. Thanks to the squad but mainly to the top three batsmen. Shikhar Dhawan kicked off with rollicking start.

India Creates 140-Yr History. Defeats Australia At Home In T20I Series

It was a brilliant effort from Suresh Raina and power hitting of Yuvraj Singh at the end was a thrilling last-ball win. In 2013 too it was lusty blows by Yuvi at the end that made the difference.

Captain-wicket keeper Mahendra Singh Dhoni credited his bowlers for the 3-0 series win sayihng Nehra and Bumrah have done really well.

With today’s massive scoreline win India might propel to number one in the T20 rankings.

It is to take note the top order batsman Chris Lynn struggled against spin and could make just 13 out of 9.

Man of the Match – Captain Shane Watson for his 124 not out in 71 balls.

Man of the Series – Virat Kohli

Playing XI India – Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, MS Dhoni(c & wk), Yuvraj Singh, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Ashish Nehra

Playing XI Australia – Shaun Marsh, Usman Khawaja, Chris Lynn, Glenn Maxwell, Shane Watson(c), Cameron Bancroft(wk), Travis Head, Cameron Boyce, Andrew Tye, Scott Boland, Shaun Tait

Score India – 200/3 (20)

Score Australia – 197/5 (20)

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->