Published On: Fri, Feb 15th, 2019

Modi flags-off semi-high speed Vande Bharat Express for Delhi-Varanasi

Spread the love

Prime Minister Narendra Modi flagged off Friday the semi-high speed Vande Bharat Express, rechristened from Train 18, in New Delhi.

Modi, Vande Bharat Express, Delhi, Varanasi

The Vande Bharat Express can run up to a maximum speed of 160 kmph and to cover a distance of 752 km from Delhi to Varanasi in just eight hours.

It is India’s first engine-less train and built in about 18 months. The Integral Coach Factory (ICF), Chennai, is the force behind its in-house design and manufacturing.

The tickets for chair car is priced tagged at Rs 1,760 and the Executive car to cost Rs 3,310 between New Delhi and Varanasi. The train has stoppages in Kanpur and Prayagraj too.

The tickets between New Delhi and Kanpur are Rs 1,090 and Rs 2,105 in the chair car class and executive class respectively. The distance between the two places is 447 km.

Similarly, the tickets prices between Delhi and Allahabad are Rs 1,395 and Rs 2,750 for chair car and executive class respectively for distance of 642 km.

Ticket is tagged for Rs 595 and Rs 1,170 for CC and EC classes between Kanpur and Allahabad for distance of 195 km.

The notable features of Vande Bharat Express include bio-vacuum toilets, automatic doors, on-board hotspot WiFi for entertainment purposes and GPS-based audio-visual passenger information system.

The first commercial run will be on February 17 and bookings have started through ticket counter or from the website of IRCTC.

The tickets include meal charges and it cannot be opted out. Each coach has a pantry facility to serve hot meals as well as hot and cold beverages.

It is learned the train can save 30 percent of electrical energy due to the use of regenerative braking system.

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->