Published On: Thu, Jul 27th, 2017

Nitish Kumar Sworn In As Bihar CM 6th Time; Back In NDA After 3 Years

Three years later Nitish Kumar has returned back to NDA and is now sworn in again as the Chief Minister of Indian state Bihar. In 12 years he has taken oath of CM six times.

Senior state BJP leader Sushil Modi sworn in as Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar.

The 243-member Bihar Assembly seat breakup of the new government:

JD(U) – 71
BJP – 53
NDA allies LJP – 2
RLSP – 2

Nitish Kumar Sworn In As Bihar CM 5th Time; Back In NDA After 3 Years

Kumar resigned Wednesday evening citing failure of his Mahagathbandhan allies with the RJD and Congress due to non-implementation of demands of Tejashwi’s resignation, the Bihar Deputy Chief Minister.

The first tenure of Kumar as CM was in 2000, but it lasted for just 7 days between March 3 and 10.


About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->