Published On: Wed, Mar 28th, 2018

Steve Smith, David Warner Banned One Year From Australian Cricketing

Spread the love

Cricket Australia has finally banned David Warner, Steve Smith and Cameron Bancroft from representing their country.

Steve Smith, David Warner Banned One Year From Australian Cricketing

The sanctions on Smith and Warner is for one year while it is lesser by three months for Bancroft.

Announcing the ban on Wednesday Cricket Australia painted worst light on Warner as he was vice-captain of the team and is found guilty being behind the ball tampering plan. Bancroft was instructed by him to scuff the ball using sandpaper during the 322-run third Test defeat to South Africa in Cape Town.

The three players are also banned from representing their states in the sheffield Shield during the announced period and to also be barred from the next edition of Big Bash League of Australia.

This mean theoretically they could appear in overseas assignments like the Indian Premier League (IPL) and the English county cricket.

However, IPL has barred Warner and Smith this year from taking up their deals with Sunrisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan.

Cricket Australia chairman David Peever said, “These are significant penalties for professional players and the Board does not impose them lightly. It is hoped that following a period of suspension, the players will be able to return to playing the game they love and eventually rebuild their careers.”

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->