Published On: Tue, Mar 19th, 2019

Tripura BJP, CPI(M) leaders join Congress following Rahul Gandhi’s visit

Spread the love

Just weeks are left for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections and Bharatiya Janata Party has faced a major shock in Northeast. The party’s Tripura vice-president Subal Bhowmik announced Tuesday to have changed his mind and joined Congress saying he felt being a burden on the saffron party.

A day before Congress president Rahul Gandhi visited Tripura and as an aftermath more leaders have quit BJP.

BJP state leader Prakash Das and BJP Kisan Morcha vice-president Premtosh Debnath said have joined Congress.

CPI(M) councilor Debashish Sen and several others from Tripura have followed the same footstep. State Congress president Pradyot Kishore Manikya Debburman said it is a “true ghar-wapsi” for the leaders and his party is confident to emerge as winner.

Subal cited “some unavoidable circumstances” in his resignation that was handed over to state BJP president Biplab Kumar Deb.

Briefing to the media Subal said BJP rule in Tripura is same as the previous CPI(M) rule in terms of political violence, nepotism, terror and hooliganism.

He added, “There is no internal democracy in BJP. The party has turned into a circus of unworthy leaders.”

Tripura BJP, CPI(M) leaders join Congress following Rahul Gandhi's visit

Meanwhile, the 57-year-old denied to answer whether Congress has offered a Lok Sabha ticket saying to work on any given assignment.

Subal joined Congress in late 1970s. In 2013 he left the party to form Tripura Pragatisheel Grameen Congress after being defeated in Tripura assembly polls. He blamed Congress central leadership for it. In 2014 he joined BJP.

Related Stories

NDA To Form Government Winning 283 Seats: Times Now-VMR Survey
Goa CM Manorhar Parrikar Passes Away Battling Cancer

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->