Published On: Thu, Mar 12th, 2020

Trump Announces ban on Travel from Europe

Share This
Spread the love

President of America, Donald Trump, has announced a temporary ban on travel from Europe to America in an attempt to control the spread of coronavirus.

Trump said that the US would ban the arrival of individuals from 26 European countries for the next 30 days. The band would start at midnight on Friday.

According to the proclamation of the President and DHS (Department for Homeland Security), the ban is applicable to 26 member countries of the Schengen passport-free zone.

Affected Nations 

These countries include Italy, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, France, Denmark, Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Latvia, Lituania, Luxembourg, Liechtenstein, Netherland, Malta, Slovakia, Poland, Portugal, Spain, Switzerland, and Sweden.

Britain and Ireland are not included in the ban as they are not members of Schengen.

Affected People

The restrictions apply to most of the foreign nationals living in the countries belonging to the Schengen zone. The ban is not applicable to the citizens of the US returning home. The rule also does not apply to the nationals in foreign countries who are legal permanent residents of the US.

The ban is similar to the restriction imposed by America on foreign nationals who have visited China in the past 14 days before coming to the US. The US has also imposed restrictions on travelers from Iran and has also issued travel warnings to countries like South Korea and Italy.

Duration of the Ban

The restriction will start on Friday and is planned for 30 days. However, the ban could be adjusted according to the conditions.

According to the latest figures, there are more than 1,250 cases of coronavirus in the 44 states of the US and Washington DC, and at least 30 people have died due to coronavirus.

About the Author

Composite Start -->