Published On: Wed, Oct 28th, 2015

Bihar Goes On Third Phase Poll, 21% Turnout By 11 AM

Spread the love

Bihar is voting again to select the new chief minister and new assembly of the state. This is the third phase poll out of five and after a break of eleven days from the second phase.

By 11 am the turnout was 20.72 percent. In the first phase Bihar witnessed 57 percent turnout and 55 percent in the second phase.

Bihar Goes On Third Phase Poll, 21 percent Turnout By 11 AM

Today’s polling is held in 50 seats. In the last assembly election the Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal (United) won from these seats. Then BJP was partner of JD(U) and had won nineteen seats. Lalu Prasad Yadav’s RJD was limited to just 8 wins. In this election JD(U) and RJD has partnered where as BJP is fighting against them, termed as the Grand Alliance.

Out of the 50 seats in total the RJD is contesting in 25 seats and JD(U) in 23. The rest is being contested by other allies. Similarly BJP is contesting in 34 seats and the rest by its regional allies.

Lalu Yadav’s two sons, 27-year-old Tej Pratap and 25-year-old Tejaswai, is contesting for the first time in Mahua and Raghopur constituencies respectively.

The polling is being held in Nitish Kumar’s home turf – Nalanda. Out of the seven seats in Nalanad the JD(U) had won six in last assembly elections. The remaining one was one by its partner BJP. Also, in 2014’s general election Nalanda was one of the two seats won by his party.

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->