Published On: Sat, Apr 6th, 2019

BJP announces 8 out of 10 names for Haryana; Retains 5 lawmakers

Share This
Spread the love

Bharatiya Janata Party announced Saturday names of eight candidates, including three sitting lawmakers and two Union ministers, for Haryana’s ten Lok Sabha seats.

However, names for Hissar and Rohtak seats are yet to be annouonced. Jannayak Janata Party’s Dushyant Chautala and Congress party’s Deepender Singh Hooda are the two sitting lawmakers respectively.

BJP has retained Dharamvir Singh from Bhiwani-Mahendragarh who has used 100 percent funds allocated under the Members of Parliament Local Area Development Scheme (MPLADS). Data reveals the fund utilization was highest at 102.16 percent.

The second to have used highest MPLADS funds is Raj Kumar Saini from Kurukshetra, but Nayab Singh Saini has replaced him for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections.

The party has retained Ratan Lal Katariya from Ambala, but former Indian Revenue Service (IRS) officer Suneeta Duggal will be fielding from Sirsa. Both the constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Castes.

Lawmaker Ashwini Kumar has been dropped from Karnal. He is last in the list of using MPLADS funds. Sanjay Bhatia will be contesting from his seat.

BJP announces 8 out of 10 names for Haryana; Retains 5 lawmakers

MP and Union minister Rao Inderjit Singh will be fielding from Gurugram and Krishan Pal Gurjar from Faridabade. MP Ramesh Chander Kaushik is named for Sonipat seat.

The state will go into polls on May 12. In 2014 BJP won 7 seats.

Related Stories

Modi To Address First Rally In Chattisgarh
Vivek Oberoi To Campaign For BJP In Gujarat

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->