Published On: Fri, May 17th, 2019

BJP hopes gaining strength in Bengal assembly with 8 bypolls

Spread the love

In Sunday’s last phase Lok Sabha elections Bengal will also go into bypolls in six seats and this is viewed by the Bharatiya Janata Party to increase its assembly tally from three in a house of 294 seats.

The six seats are Darjeeling, Islampur, Habibpur, Bhatpara, Kandi and Nawda. On April 29 and May 6 bypolls were held in Uluberia East and Krishnaganj.

BJP Bengal unit president Dilip Ghosh said, “We are confident of winning four of the eight seats. This will have a limited impact on the number of our legislators, but the political impact in the state would be enough to make about 60 MLAs switch over to our party.”

In the 2016 Assembly polls ruling Trinamool Congress grabbed 211 or 294 seats and three seats of BJP are the highest for the party in Bengal.

In the eight seats four were won by TMC, two by Congress, one by CPI (M) and one by Gorkha Janmukti Morcha.

Former principal of Presidency College and political analyst Amal Mukhopadhyay said, “Elections in these six seats will not only be a litmus test for the turncoats but, being held immediately after the Lok Sabha elections there, will also indicate trends for the state assembly elections scheduled in 2021.”

BJP, Bengal, bypolls

The result of Darjeeling is to have direct impact on who will sway on the hills.

Meanwhile, BJP seems hopeful in Islampur, Bhatpara and Habibpur.

Related Stories

BJP Will Repeat Winning Milestone Of 2014: Modi
Modi Vows Building Giant Vidyasagar Statue In Kolkata

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->