Published On: Fri, Apr 12th, 2019

BJP probably contesting for highest number of seats in its history

Spread the love

In 2014 Bharatiya Janata Party contested for 428 seats and in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections the party has announced for 408 seats, which is 20 less, but probably to end up contesting highest number.

According to a party leader there are at least thirty more names to be announced.

In 2009 BJP fielded 433 seats and in 2004 a total of 364 candidates contested. The party announced 339 seats in 1999.

The party is yet to announce 7 names for Delhi and insider said the delay initially was due to tug of war within the BJP state unit and later due to wait and watch strategy amid seat sharing between Congress and Aam Aadmi Party.

Similarly the party is yet to announce eight candidates for Uttar Pradesh and Madhya Pradesh each.

A BJP leader said three names to contest in alliance with Shiromani Akali Dal in Punjab, two in Haryana and 1 in Rajasthan in coming couple of days.

The party has no alliance in Telangana and Andhra Pradesh and is contesting in all 42 seats in the two states. In 2014 Lok Sabha elections it had allied with Andhra Pradesh chief minister N Chandrababu Naidu-led Telugu Desam Party.

BJP probably contesting for highest number of seats in its history

The party is contesting for fewer seats in Assam, Jharkhand and Bihar due to alliances.

New Delhi-based Institute for Policy Research and Governance secretary general Aditya Jha said, “The BJP started by establishing itself through alliances, which meant sacrificing expansion plans. Now it has established itself. The party is clearly trying to expand to new territories.”

Related Stories

NaMo TV Content Is Not Advertisement: Delhi Poll Officer
Despite Recent Naxals Attack On BJP Convoy Voters Turned In Large Numbers In Dantewada

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->