Published On: Fri, May 17th, 2019

BJP will repeat winning milestone of 2014: Modi

Share This
Spread the love

Prime Minister Narendra Modi expressed confidence on Friday while briefing the press at BJP headquarters that the party would return to power with full majority.

The PM said the win will be big and a milestone in the country’s electoral history as it was in 2014 when the party grabbed 282 seats.

For the first time in three decades a party made government winning full majority.

Modi added that a similar milestone will be achieved and this would be for the first time that a majority government will again form same majority government after completing its full five-year term.

The last time such situation existed was in 1971, about 48 years ago, when Indira Gandhi led the Congress (R) formed government with full majority. Earlier it was in 1967 for the united Congress.

BJP will repeat winning milestone of 2014: Modi

The ongoing Lok Sabha elections is 17th since independence in 1947. The first was held in 1951-52 and Jawaharlal Nehru’s stature helped Congress get complete majority for three consecutive terms, which were in 1952, 1957 and 1968.

In 1952 Congress grabbed 398 seats out of 543 and in 1957 the party made government winning 395 seats out of 537. In 1962 Nehru repeated with 394 seats out of 540. The party achieved victory with 303 seats out of 553 in 1967.

Related Stories

Modi Vows Building Giant Vidyasagar Statue In Kolkata
Left’s Vote Shifting To BJP In Bengal: TMC

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->