Published On: Sun, May 27th, 2018

CSK Defeats Sunrisers in IPL2018 Final Chasing Massive 179 Target

Spread the love

It was a flawless cricketing from the boys of Chennai Super King (CSK) in the grand finale of Indian Premier League (IPL) under captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who of course deserves the maximum credits.

Sunday was a happy conclusion for the team after two years of pain, agony and frustration due to their suspension from the grand Indian T20 league. The Yellow army thumped Sunrisers Hyderabad for the fourth time in IPL 2018 season and emerged as deserved winners, regaining the crown for the third time.

The target of 179 seemed a difficult run chase but the CSK finished with nine balls remaining and 8 wickets to spare. The Sunrisers reached 178 in 20 overs and losing six wickets.

The last two times CSK emerged as winner of the IPL were in 2010 and 2011.

The two batsmen who turned to be the heros in achieving target ahead of 20 overs were Shane watson with 117 runs in 57 balls and Suresh Raina with 32 runs in 24 balls. Their scoring rates were 205.26 and 133.33 respectively.

Among the bowlers Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Sandeep Sharma emerged as the key players with four wickets each in their bags.


Sunrisers Hyderabad 178/6 (20.0)R/R: 8.9
Chennai Super Kings 181/2 (18.3)R/R: 9.78

ipl2018 score

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->