Published On: Wed, Mar 26th, 2014


Spread the love

Toss Ireland, who chose to field

T20I debuts Ahmed Raza and Sharif Asadullah (United Arab Emirates)

Player of the match EC Joyce (Ireland)

Umpires M Erasmus (South Africa) and IJ Gould (England)

TV umpire SJ Davis (Australia)

Match referee DC Boon (Australia)

Reserve umpire BNJ Oxenford (Australia)

UAE  have been sent crashing out of the World Twenty20 tournament on Wednesday following a 21-run defeat by Ireland, who won the Group B match in Sylhet by the Duckworth-Lewis method.

Ireland were 103 for three in 14.2 overs in pursuit of UAE’s modest 123 for six when the heavens opened up. Under the D/L method, 83 was the par score for Ireland when it started raining. Skipper William Porterfield (33 not out) and Ed Joyce (43) put on 80 runs for Ireland after opener Paul Sterling (8) was retired hurt.

Sterling was hit on his elbow when he tried to pull Sharif Asadullah in the first over of the innings. He hit two fours of the same bowler before the pain became unbearable, forcing him to retire.

Invited to bat, UAE openers started well putting on 35 runs in five overs, before Faizan Asif was run out. Shaiman Anwar top-scored for the Irish side with a 28-ball 30. Opener Amjad Ali made 20 while Amjad Javed scored a brisk 19 with the help of three fours towards the end.

Ali struck fours boundaries while Anwar hit two sixes, in what was a mediocre batting display. Ireland bowling was led by Paul Stirling (2/12) and Kevin O’Brien (2/17). The other bowlers chipped in with useful contributions as the UAE batsmen found the going tough in this crucial match.

About the Author

- I am an internet marketing expert with an experience of 8 years.My hobbies are SEO,Content services and reading ebooks.I am founder of SRJ News andTech Preview.

Composite Start -->