Published On: Mon, Feb 20th, 2017

IPL 2017: Ben Stokes Sold Most Expensive In League’s History; Ishant Sharma Unsold

Spread the love

The Indian Premier League has named the most expensive foreign player in its history. Rising Pune Supergiants has bought him for 1.7 million pound (Rs 14.5 Crore) and close behind to Ben Stokes is his England team-mate Tymal Mills bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore for 1.4 million pound (Rs 12 Crore).

The surprising part of the IPL 2017 auction on Monday in Bangalore was no bidder for Imran Tahir, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Pragyan Ojha and Ish Sodhi.

England v Pakistan - 4th One Day International

Base price of pacer Ishant Sharma was Rs 2 Crore while for Imran Tahir it was Rs 50 Lakh. Pregyan looked for Rs 30 Lakh at least and Ish Sodhi wanted to cash-in Rs 30 Lakh too.

Below are the top 10 expensive players of IPL 2017:

Ben Stokes – Rising Pune Supergiants – INR 14.50 Crore
Tymal Mills – Royal Challengers Bangalore – INR 12 Crore
Kagiso Rabada – Delhi Daredevils – INR 5 Crore
Trent Boult – Kolkata Knight Riders – INR 5 Crore
Pat Cummins – Delhi Daredevils – INR 4.5 Crore
Chris Woakes – Kolkata Knight Riders – INR 4.2 Crore
Rashid Khan – Sunrisers Hyderabad – INR 4 Crore
Nathan Coulter-Nile – Kolkata Knight Riders – INR 3.5 Crore
Karn Sharma – Mumbai Indians – INR 3.2 Crore
T Natarajan – Kings XI Punjab – INR 3 Crore

Below are the lowest-value (Rs 10 Lakh) players of IPL 2017:

Ankit Bawne – Delhi Daredevils
Rinku Singh – Kings XI Punjab
Milind Tandon – Rising Pune Supergiants
Shashank Singh – Delhi Daredevils
Tejas Singh Baroka – Gujarat Lions
Tanmay Agarwal – Sunrisers Hyderabad
Pravin Tambe – Sunrisers Hyderabad
Praveen Dubey – Royal Challengers Bangalore
Navdeep Saini – Delhi Daredevils
Rahul Chahar – Rising Pune Supergiants
K Khejroliya – Mumbai Indians
Saurabh Kumar – Rising Pune Supergiants
Chirag Suri – Gujarat Lions
Shelly Shaurya – Gujarat Lions
Shubham Agrawal – Gujart LIons
Sanjay Yadav – Kolkata Knight Riders
Ishank Jaggi – Kolkata Knight Riders
R Tripathi – Rising Pune Supergiants
Pratham Singh – Gujarat Lions
Aksh Deep Nath – GL
Sayan Ghosh – KKR

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->