Published On: Wed, Feb 20th, 2019

J&K withdraws security of 18 separatists, 155 politicians

Spread the love

Following the security review meeting headed by chairman of state chief secretary BVR Subrahmanyam in Jammu and Kashmir security of eighteen separatists and 155 politicians have been withdrawn.

J&K, security, separatists, politicians

The leaders who are affected with the state move are PDP leader Wahid Parra, SAS Geelani, Aga Syed Mosvi, Maulvi Abbas Ansari, Yaseen Malik, Saleem Geelani, Shahid ul Islam, Zaffar Akbar Bhat, Nayeem Ahmed Khan, Mukhtar Ahmad Waza, Farooq Ahmed Kichloo, Masroor Abbas Ansari, Aga Syed Abul Hussain, Abdul Gani Shah and Mohd Musadiq Bhat.

Earlier this week the security was downgraded for six other separatists.

Apart from the leaders there are 155 such politicians and activists including 2010 IAS topper from J&K Shah Faesal whose security has been stripped.

With the decision now more than 1,000 police personnel and at least 100 vehicles are freed to do regular police work.

The decision comes after one of the deadliest suicide bomb attack on February 14 in J&K’s Pulwama region in which 44 CRPF jawans were killed.

United States President Donald Trump described Tuesday the Pulwama attack as a horrible situation and said soon would issue a statement.

He said, “I have watched. I have got a lot of reports on it. We will have comment at an appropriate time. It would be wonderful if they get along.”

State Department deputy spokesperson Robert Palladino too expressed strong support for India

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->