Published On: Tue, Apr 8th, 2014


Spread the love

Over 80% of the electorate in Tripura cast their votes for one seat
and 72% Assam in five seats as the massive nine phase Lok Sabha
elections began peacefully today from the northeast.  Election
department sources in both the states said that the percentage might
increase after final computation.

In Assam, Tezpur recorded 73% voting, Jorhat 75%, Lakhimpur 67,Dibrugarh 70 and Koliabor 72%.In Tripura, the electoral fates of 13 candidates, including CPM’s
Shankar Prasad Dutta, secretary of the state unit of CITU, Cong’s
Arunoday Saha, former vice-chancellor of Tripura Central University,
Sudhindra Dasgupta, BJP’s state unit chief and chairman of the state
unit of TMC and former minister Ratan Chakraborty, were sealed in

The CPM had won the Tripura West seat ten out of 15 times between 1952
and 2009. Since 1996 the CPM had consistently won this seat.
In Assam, prominent among the 51 candidates were union ministers and
Congress nominees Paban Singh Ghatowar (Dibrugarh) and Ranee Narah
(Lakhimpur), besides former Union minister and sitting Congress MP
Bijoy Krishna Handique (Jorhat).  Others were chief minister Tarun
Gogoi’s son Gaurav Gogoi (Koliabor), Congress rebel and independent
candidate Moni Kumar Subba and BJP state unit president Sabananda
Sonowal (Lakhimpur).

In the 2009 Lok Sabha elections in the state, the Congress had won
seven of the 14 seats, its alliance partner BPF one, BJP four and
AIUDF one.  The seats for which polling was held during the day were
Tezpur, Koliabor, Jorhat, Dibrugarh and Lakhimpur.

About the Author

- I am an internet marketing expert with an experience of 8 years.My hobbies are SEO,Content services and reading ebooks.I am founder of SRJ News andTech Preview.

Composite Start -->