Published On: Tue, Mar 12th, 2019

Lok Sabha elections 2019 – Facts to know about Uttar Pradesh

Spread the love

Uttar Pradesh is to witness three-way contest in the Lok Sabha elections 2019 to send eighty members to lower house of Indian Parliament. The Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) will be pitting together against Rahul Gandhi-led Congress and Narendra Modi-led Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

SP President Akhilesh Yadav and BSP chief Mayawati earlier briefed a press conference of a 50-50 poll pact, leaving out Congress, which had decided to go solo in the state. Ajit Singh’s Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD) may join the combine.

Meanwhile, Congress has introduced Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to Uttar Pradesh to manage eastern part of the state while Jyotiraditya Scindia is in-charge of UP West.

In 2014 Lok Sabha elections Congress could manage to grab just two seats in Uttar Pradesh and so Rahul Gandhi is not expecting miracles to take place in the state, but definitely hopes to win comparatively some more seats.

For Modi-led BJP the stakes are high in Uttar Pradesh. In last Lok Sabha elections the party grabbed 71 seats.

Some facts to note

Total Lok Sabha seats in Uttar Pradesh – 80
Ruling party/coalition in the state: BJP + Apna Dal + Suheldev Bharatiya Samaj Party (SBSP)
Party wise break-up of seats – BJP (68); Apna Dal (2), Congress (2), Samajwadi Party (7), Rashtriya Lok Dal(1)
Number of voters – 14.40 crore

priyanka gandhi

Key players to watch/follow – Akhilesh Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Mulayam Singh Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Shivpal Yadav (PSPL), Mayawati (BSP), Rahul Gandhi (Congress), Priyanka Gandhi (Congress), Jyotiraditya Scindia (Congress), Sonia Gandhi (Congress), Raj Babbar (Congress), Narendra Modi (BJP), Yogi Adityanath (BJP), Rajnath Singh (BJP), Om Prakash Rajbhar (SBSP), Anupriya Patel (Apna Dal)
Key issues to rule during campaign – Farmer, reservations, law & order, minorities, development and Pulwama terror attack

About the Author

- Paul Linus is an eminent online journalist who has been writing news, features and editorials on different websites from across the world for about a decade. He can be contacted at

Composite Start -->