Published On: Wed, Jan 7th, 2015

No Place for Yuvraj in 15-Man India World Cup Squad

Spread the love

The 15 man final Indian World Cup squad for the 2015 ICC Cricket World Cup was announced by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) yesterday. There are no major surprises in the final 15 men that will be representing India, at this year’s World Cup to be held in Australia and New Zealand in the months of February and March.

The BCCI secretary Sanjay Patel announced the names of the members of the Indian World Cup team in the presence of Chairman of the selection committee, Sandeep Patil. The main surprise was the inclusion of all-rounder Stuart Binny in the 15 man squad as there were hopes of Yuvraj Singh, the hero of the 2011 World Cup, to make it to the final 15 man team following his superb domestic performance of late. There was a little bit of hope among many of Yuvraj fans that he might be included in the World Cup squad, despite not finding his name in the 30 man probable list announced by BCCI earlier. He is having a really good run in the Ranj Trophy this season.

No Place for Yuvraj in 15-Man India World Cup Squad

As Binny is a seam bowler and the conditions in Australia and New Zealand suit seam bowling, he might have got the nod from the selectors over Yuvraj, who is a spinner. But, Yuvraj’s vast experience playing in the World Cup would be dearly missed by India. Ravindra Jadeja who is nursing an injury has been included in the squad as another all rounder and Axar Patel has also been included in the squad as a backup for injured Jadeja.

Robin Uthappa who has been the star batsman of Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2014 IPL did not find a place in the 15 member squad nor did Murali Vijay who is currently playing the test series in Australia and is performing well with the bat there.

The Indian squad for the 2015 World Cup has five batsmen, three all-rounders, two wicketkeepers, four seamers and a specialist spinner. Mahendra Singh Dhoni, who recently retired from Test Cricket to prolong his one day and T20 career, has been named as the captain of the Indian team. Virat Kohli, the current Test captain of India, is the vice captain of the Indian World Cup squad. This might be Dhoni’s last World Cup.

The 15 men World Cup squad: M.S. Dhoni (capt.), Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Ambati Rayudu, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Stuart Binny.

About the Author

- Author is a editor of Dailynewsz -a news portals that covers world news and breaking headlines from US,UK,Europe,Middle East and Asia.He is also co founder of Searchprofiler

Composite Start -->