Published On: Sun, Dec 1st, 2013

Rajasthan Polls 40 percent voter turnout recorded till 2 pm

Share This
Spread the love

The average voter turnout recorded till 2 pm was 40 per cent, said a top election officer.

Sriganganagar recorded a polling percentage of 46.55 per cent followed by Jhunjhunu 46, Jhalawar 37.63, Karauli 33.45, and Jaipur 35 pc, epots quoted a vhief election officer as saying.

As voting for 199 seats of Rajasthan was underway, BJP’s senior leader Sushma Swaraj in an inspiring tweet told the paty supporters that passion would fetch BJP the victory.

The voting process in Rajasthan has proceeded peacefully except a couple of trivial incidents in Bharatpur (poll booth capturing bid) and Alwar.

In Alwar, a bunch of anti-social elements tried to disrupt polling by trying to barge into the polling booth, said the police accoding to the reports.

Reacting to the incident, security men “opened fire in the air in Jamdoli area”, SHO Raini police station, Jairam, said, according to the reports.

The election Commission of the state said that over 18-20% of the voters had cast their votes by noon.

Rajasthan recoded a low turnout of 8.24% in the early hours of voting, the state election commission said.

The highest turnout so far was 12 per cent,recorded in Tonk, whereas SriGanganagar, Dausa, Jhalawar and Bikaner registered 11, 10.40, 9.56 and 9. 41 per cent turn out respectively, according to information provided by the state EC office, reports added.

A bunch of people, allegedly the supporters of BJP MLA Anita Singh, stormed a polling station in Dhabak area in Bharatpur’s Nagar constituency, the PTI quoted the District Collector Neeraj K Pawan as saying.

He added that the BJP MLA Anita Singh also threatened he polling officers, however she denied the reports.

A similar booth capturing attept was made in Mawai area, reports said.

Having cast her vote at Topkhana school in Jhalawar, BJP’s Vasundhara Raje expressed confidence that the electorate of Rajasthan are waiting to get rid of Congress, and hence they will vote for the development.

After casting his vote at Jodhpur, the incumbent CM Ashok Gehlot sounded jubilant and said that the Congress will win the elections by a massive majority as there was no question of any Narendra Modi or Vasundhara Raje factor.

“Congress will win by a massive majority, there is no competition, no Modi factor here”, said Gehlot according to reports.

Congress’ Ashok Gehlot and BJP’s Vasundhara Raje were among the early voters who cast their votes at Jodhpur and Jhalawar respectively. While the Congess will aim to fight anti-incumbency to return back to power, the BJP will spare no stones unturned to cash in on the current government’s loopholes and win the polls.

As Rajasthanis began casting their votes on Sunday, BJP’s PM candidate and Gujarat CM Narendra Modi in a tweet appealed to the electorate to turn out in record numbers.

About the Author

- I am an internet marketing expert with an experience of 8 years.My hobbies are SEO,Content services and reading ebooks.I am founder of SRJ News andTech Preview.

Composite Start -->